Producing the ingredients for the recipes – from whence will they come…

Front garden.  Productive area of the garden.  Road runs past it. And, possibly, the HS2 high speed rail in a few years’ time.. So not a place to sit quietly and peacefully – except on Sundays or in between the school and office run times.

All standing to attention post-cut

All standing to attention post-cut

I am slightly obsessed by symmetry and balance (you are reading the blog of somebody who can’t sleep unless all the cushions in the living room are upright and whose nephews – jokingly I think – give themselves centre partings before they step foot in our house!) so I have 3 vegetable beds which are kind of balanced if you stand looking at the garden from the front of the house porch.

The conervatory doubles up as a greenhouse.

The conervatory doubles up as a greenhouse.

I then made a round fruit bed, in an area which once upon a time had one of those tall grasses with plumes growing in it which I hated so I dug it up, gave it stacks of manure and made it into an area for fruit.

Needs a bit of a tidy to do the fruit justice!

Needs a bit of a tidy to do the fruit justice!

 

My veg rotation and what I  like to grow is all planned and, if all the planting succeeds, I am fairly confident in producing vegetables for the recipes. Supplemented by a veg box scheme.

Frames ready for the peas and the beans

Frames ready for the peas and the beans

Some things even survived the winter!

We survived the winter!

We survived the winter!

 

 

This year, I turned my thoughts to bigger fruit – principally apples and plums.  So I purchased 3 apple trees and a fruit tree from Victoriana Nurseries and planted them (or rather my husband did – naturally I supported…) around the veggie beds.  But in a carefully balanced manner – to give some structure to the garden.  We shall see if that works out how I imagined it might when I decided on where to place them!

Apple and plum trees ready and planted

Apple and plum trees ready and planted

 

So, recipes ready, seeds and seedlings on the go.  Trees in. So far so good.

 

Leave a Reply

