Take a punt on what you’ve got!

If I am feeling in need of inspiration, I do try ‘the recipes’.  Every now and then though I just take two ingredients and make something with them as the base.  Usually when I know I am not in the mood to be too adventurous, to use too many pots and pans, or to have to locate weird and wonderful ingredients. I love being inspired by recipes but sometimes they are completely unrealistic on a number of levels!

Recently, and after a long dormant ‘why is nothing growing’ phase in the veg patch, I saw the first broad beans come through. Now I read quite a few gardening blogs and I know that that is very late compared to some! But, there they were so I picked them. Not many.  And quite small.

I also picked some of the wonderful chilli peppers that always seem to flourish in pots on the conservatory ledges.  Green first, turning red.  I never recall what type of peppers I grow – I don’t label them… I know. Bad…

I don't think I will use all the chillies...

I don’t think I will use all the chillies…

The colours were fabulous.  Very fresh and vibrant.  So – broad beans and chillis. What to do with them?

The pantry delivered up a tin of tomatoes – and a tin of tomato soup.  I went for the tomato soup – I was in the mood for sweet and thick.  The ubiquitous chopped onion, and garlic, seemed necessary also.

And the freezer (recently defrosted so I finally got a look at what was at the bottom!) seemed to be saying ‘you’ve one sorry pack of mince here [kindly lived, kindly killed as always], so use it up’.  So I did. I defrosted it, it goes without saying…

About the right number of ingredients to deal with in my opinion

About the right number of ingredients to deal with in my opinion

I stuck them in a pot – the colours were even more vibrant as the heat hit them.

Such colour

Such colour

Then into the oven.  Brown rice cooked as well.

Et voila,  a very feisty chilli.  With home made yoghurt – to cool the mouth! Even though I only used one green and one red chilli, that was enough to liven the old taste buds.

I always make yoghurt when I know I am growing chillies!

I always make yoghurt when I know I am growing chillies!

So, not bad.  Not a hugely inspirational dish but home grown ingredients and a wake up call to the taste buds made it worthy of being concocted.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

