The mighty onglet

You may know it as a feather steak, thick skirt, or some other name. In France it is known as Onglet.  My taste buds didn’t really care what it was called – it was tender and tasty. It used to be known as the butcher’s choice. I can see why. They know what is what, do butchers.

I hadn’t cooked it before. I picked it up as one of my ‘testing cuts’ from Terrick Farm.

WP_20141007_13_41_50_Pro

So – what to do with it? No bone. Some fat (good – always means it will be tasty). I was told it was to be cooked quickly as it is a tender cut – not much muscle in the area of the cattle from where it comes.

First, assess it.  And cut it.  I cut it ACROSS the grain. Yes, like material in sewing classes, you need to know where the grain lies. This means it will be less tough.

WP_20141007_13_49_33_Pro

I thought I would marinade it in a tiny bit of wine. Not enough to lose the taste of the meat. Just a smidgin’.

WP_20141007_13_50_34_Pro

Then just fry it in a tiny amount of butter.  Salt and pepper it.  Add the marinade at the end so you make use of that lovely wine.

WP_20141007_18_14_06_Pro

Mashed potato. Nice greens.

WP_20141007_18_16_44_Pro

Fabulous taste. And nothing like the cost of cuts sold as ‘steak’ yet super tasty and just as tender cooked quickly.

Onglet. I shall remember that mighty meaty tasty cut.

Leave a Reply

