This month’s good book and website? – let’s move away from austerity…

It seems topical. Anti-austerity politics everywhere it seems.  So:

This month’s book – all about puddings and sweets!  And it is one of Miss Reeve’s particularly ‘retro’ ones.  The date of purchase she has written in the book is… 1967.  So I guess that makes me retro too.  Nothing austere about either the book, or me I like to think.

Slightly austere cover!

Slightly austere cover!

The details:  The book of sweets and puddings  Produced and published by Spectator Publications Limited London (c) 1967

Some photos – loving the colours!

All that colouring! E-numbers clearly not an issue in the 60s..

All that colouring! E-numbers clearly not an issue in the 60s..

Very cute drawings.

Very cute drawings.

And very handy tips right at the beginning. I like books that give common sense tips.

I like plain speaking tips

I like plain speaking tips

So the website – a lot less retro!  I do like the BBC. I grew up in countries where, before the advent of satellite TV, the BBC world service was our link to the outside world.  So – their Good Food website has some wonderful ideas for puddings.  Have a look.

Happy February!

Leave a Reply

