Wot no pastry?!

Feeling like you can’t face any more pastry? But just fancy a quiche? Make the base from mashed potato.  I know.  Seems obvious but at the end of a long week working away, staying in hotels where everything seemed to come as a pie, I couldn’t face any more pastry.  And with lots of vegetables and eggs, I just fancied a quiche.

Then I noticed a superfluity of potatoes!  So, I wondered what a quiche without pastry but using potatoes as a base would be like.

First, I boiled the potatoes.

Sometimes I think potatoes just multiply when I'm not looking...

Sometimes I think potatoes just multiply when I’m not looking…

Then, whilst they were boiling, I cut up carrots and then put them through a blender to make them even smaller.

Created with Nokia Smart Cam

I cut up some leeks.

Created with Nokia Smart Cam

 

Such a lovely green and such a lovely orange!  Just what you need to liven up your brain at the end of a week like I had had.

Once the potatoes are boiled, mash them. I always keep the skin on the potatoes.  Line your quiche dishes with the potato.

Created with Nokia Smart Cam

Layer the carrots on, then the leeks. I like my leeks to be on top as I love the crispiness of them as they catch in the oven but if you don’t like that, make sure the liquid covers them.

Created with Nokia Smart Cam

The liquid in my case was some milk, a few eggs, and I mixed them together to make the quiche filling.

When you've got chickens, you've always plenty of eggs!

When you’ve got chickens, you’ve always plenty of eggs!

I added some red chilli peppers (yet something else to liven up the brain!), plenty of salt and pepper. You could also add some herbs and spices – whatever you have to hand that you like the taste of.

WP_20150214_12_26_57_Pro

Put in the oven for a while. ‘A while’ being at least 20 minutes on say 180. Once the filling is quite firm (wobbly to firm I’d say as it keeps cooking even when out of the oven), take the quiche out.

Admire the colours.

Created with Nokia Smart Cam

Then eat!  Especially the crispy leek bits…

Created with Nokia Smart Cam

So, colour, flavour, using up veggies and… no pastry.

Leave a Reply

