The second half begins – part 2!

And so, as outlined in my previous post, to my second ‘foodie’ birthday celebratory experience. Le Manoir Aux Quat’ Saisons.

I am not, for the most part, into what I call ‘fiddle faddle’ food. You know the type – vast expense for a plate of teeny tiny food with blobs of ‘jus’ on a pile of ingredients for which the tinier the portion, the more the price! Often with very little taste to it.

However, I had only ever heard good things about Le Manoir so, with two friends and my husband, off I went for lunch.  Le Manoir is not just about the food on the plate. It is about the service (friendly and not overly intrusive or fussy), the grounds (delightful) and the ingredients (with many of the vegetables and herbs grown in the grounds) fresh and simple.

It was a wonderful afternoon.  With a book as a birthday gift from Le Manoir (yes – one of Raymond Blanc’s) and a little candle on my pudding.  Little touches that added so much to the day.

Some photographs for you:

Beautiful gardens

Beautiful gardens

WP_20151016_023

WP_20151016_016

For a veggie patch, not bad!

For a veggie patch, not bad!

Truly from plot to plate!

Truly from plot to plate!

WP_20151016_026

I highly recommend Le Manoir. Especially if you usually avoid fiddle faddle food – there is nothing fiddle faddle about the place! Just good food, wonderful service and a great experience. I call that good value.

Leave a Reply

