When NOT to eat pancakes…

I love pancakes. I eat them regularly for breakfast, lunch or dinner.  I do not eat them on pancake day though!

I grew up abroad but, in between postings, my parents kept a house in Olney, Buckinghamshire. Scene of the oldest pancake race in the world (so they contend). In the olden days, when I was young, it was fun and amateurish. Now it is professional and ‘a big thing’.  I tend to avoid events which have changed too much from what they once were.  So no pancakes for me on pancake day.

I love them though! I tend to make a batch of mixture up every few days and keep the batch in the fridge for a couple of days and then just pop as much of the mixture as I want to use into the pan.

Here is my recipe for the batter – very few ingredients and all are easily available!:

100g plain flour, 1 egg, 250ml milk.  That’s all – easy!  Add a pinch of salt if you are so minded.

WP_20160209_001

I put the flour into my usual mixing bowl, and make a  little well in the centre into which I break the egg. I then just push the flour on the sides of the bowl into the centre with the egg until it is mixed in a fair bit. Then I add a bit of the milk at a time until I have a nice liquidy batter. Make sure you whisk it after that so that you incorporate lots of lovely air into the batter – it makes for good ‘bubbles’ in the texture of the pancake. Depending on my mood/time available, I whisk for a good few minutes!

WP_20160209_003

Then, I simply put some of the batter mixture into the pan which has had some butter melted on it.  The pan needs to be nice and hot and then turned down to medium once poured in.  Keep an eye on the mixture – you get a feel for it.  But ultimately, depending on thickness, you won’t need more than a few seconds to heat the very thin ones through on one side, and then turn it over to do the other. You can toss the pancake, flip the pancake or just gently turn it over using, in my case, a large plastic fish slice!

This one's quite 'frilly'

This one’s quite ‘frilly’

Your first ever will  never be the best as you test the temperature and the thickness that you want.  I put it to once side and then munch on it as I make the next pancakes!

Decide what you like with it. As a pudding, the usual sugar and lemon can be sprinked on each circular pancake and rolled up OR put on after the pancake is rolled. I love fresh honey from a friend’s bees’ honeycomb.

Such a treat. A little goes such a long way.

Such a treat. A little goes such a long way.

I like them for breakfast with fresh fruit.

WP_20160209_025

Or for a super indulgent supper which is VERY quick and easy to make, I layer the pancakes which cheese and mushrooms (mushrooms already cooked) in between.   Depending on how hungry you feel, add to the layers!

WP_20160209_047

Up to you.

That’s the good thing about pancakes. No rules. It doesn’t matter if they aren’t perfect. Make them as thick or as thin as you like. Eat them with what you like. And if you’ve done the batter in advance, you’re good to go for a meal in less than 5 minutes.

Every day. Not just on pancake day…

Leave a Reply

